Skip to main content

English tests

No English test needed: scholarships without IELTS

For many students, IELTS is the biggest application barrier. ScholarPal uses existing language-policy fields to surface scholarships that accept alternatives such as Duolingo, MOI waivers, or no English test at all.

Scholarships with English-test flexibility

Look for Duolingo, MOI-waiver, or no-test-required signals before spending time on exams.

36 scholarships, grouped by level
ScholarshipLevelFundingUsually closes
Bachelor's (9)
Amherst College Need-Based Financial Aid for International StudentsBachelor'sNot statedNot confirmed
University of Toronto President's Scholars of Excellence ProgramBachelor'sFully fundedNot confirmed
University of Amsterdam — Letje Lips Amsterdam Merit Scholarship (LLAMS)Bachelor's, GraduateNot statedNot confirmed
University of Amsterdam — UvA scholarshipsBachelor'sNot statedNot confirmed
Health Care and Disease Prevention [Public Health Supervisor] — University of DebrecenBachelor'sFully fundedUsually January (estimated)
University of Bristol Global Engineering ScholarshipBachelor'sPartialNot confirmed
McCall MacBain Entrance Scholarships — McGill UndergraduateBachelor'sFull tuitionNot confirmed
Nursing and Patient Care [Nurse] — Semmelweis UniversityBachelor'sFully fundedUsually January (estimated)
CMA CGM Excellence Fund for Education scholarships (Lebanese awards)Bachelor'sFull tuitionNot confirmed
Master's (8)
UBC Graduate International Research ScholarshipsMaster'sFully fundedNot confirmed
Artificial Intelligence Scholarship a.y. 2026-27Master'sPartialNot confirmed
CIHEAM Chania (MAICh) full scholarships for two-year MSc programmes (agriculture, food, environment)Master'sFully fundedNext round
Université Paris-Saclay International Master's Scholarships (IDEX)Master'sPartialNot confirmed
JICA JISR — Master's Scholarships in Japan for Syrian RefugeesMaster'sFully fundedUsually March (estimated)
CIHEAM Zaragoza Scholarship — Master in Sustainable Fisheries Management (Alicante, Spain)Master'sNot statedUsually May (estimated)
EPFL Excellence FellowshipsMaster'sFully fundedNot confirmed
Engineering the Future ScholarshipsMaster'sNot statedNot confirmed
PhD (6)
Princeton University — Fully Funded PhD ProgramsPhDFully fundedNot confirmed
London Interdisciplinary Social Science Doctoral Training PartnershipPhDFully fundedNot confirmed
Doctoral School of History [Arts and Humanities] — Pázmány Péter Catholic UniversityPhDFully fundedUsually January (estimated)
Semmelweis University Doctoral School [Medical and Health Science] - Theoretical and Translational Medicine DivisionPhDFully fundedUsually January (estimated)
Semmelweis University Doctoral School [Social Science]- Health Science DivisonPhDFully fundedUsually January (estimated)
Ada Lovelace PhD Scholarship in Computational and Data Science (2026)PhDNot stated
Several levels (8)
Jusoor Open-Call — Flights for Syrian Students Already Funded by Their UniversityBachelor's, Master'sFull tuitionNot confirmed
Bocconi University — Bocconi International AwardsBachelor's, Master'sFull tuitionNot confirmed
Princeton University Graduate Fellowship — All PhD ProgramsMaster's, PhDFully fundedNot confirmed
University of Virginia Emergency Student Assistance FundBachelor's, Master's, PhDNot statedNot confirmed
JetBrains Scholarship – Constructor UniversityBachelor's, Master'sPartialNot confirmed
McGill-UAE Graduate Studies FellowshipMaster's, PhDFully fundedNot confirmed
St Andrews Education for Palestine Students (STEPS) For PalestiniansBachelor's, Master'sFully fundedNot confirmed
University of Bristol Sanctuary and Scholarship Support For PalestiniansBachelor's, Master's, PhDNot statedNot confirmed
Other programmes (5)
University of Amsterdam — Amsterdam Merit ScholarshipNot statedNot confirmed
HESPAL (Higher Education Scholarships for Palestinians) For PalestiniansFully fundedNot confirmed
BP Widening Participation ScholarshipsNot statedNot confirmed
MEXT Japan ScholarshipNot statedNext round
DAAD In-Country/In-Region Scholarships For PalestiniansFully fundedUsually August (estimated)
Open full scholarships explorer

No English test yet? You still have options

A missing IELTS or TOEFL is one of the most common reasons students stop applying, but for most scholarships it is not a hard blocker. Here are four practical routes, and how to find scholarships that already accept them.

Duolingo English Test (DET), taken from home

The Duolingo English Test is taken online from a laptop with a webcam: no test centre, no travel. It costs far less than IELTS/TOEFL (around US$65), results come back in about 2 days, and a growing list of universities accept it. For students in Gaza or with restricted movement, this is usually the single most practical option.

Fee waivers and refugee or displaced-student programs

IELTS and TOEFL are expensive, but fee reductions and vouchers exist: the Duolingo English Test regularly offers free test vouchers, and several NGOs and university sanctuary/at-risk schemes cover or reimburse test costs for refugee and displaced students. If a scholarship is worth applying to, ask the provider directly whether they sponsor the test.

MOI: Medium of Instruction letters

If you studied (or are studying) in English, many universities will waive the English test entirely in exchange for a Medium of Instruction letter from your school or university confirming English was the language of instruction. This is one of the fastest ways to remove the requirement, with no exam at all.

Conditional offers: apply now, prove English later

Plenty of programs make a conditional offer: they admit you now and let you submit the English score (or take a pre-sessional English course) before you enrol. You do not need the test in hand to start applying; a strong academic profile can secure the offer first.

Ready to sit a test after all?

If a waiver is not available for the scholarship you want, these are the free preparation materials published by the organisations that run the tests themselves.

Browse scholarships that need no test

Free preparation, from the official sources

Every link goes straight to the official organisation. We take no commission and we do not sell prep courses.

English test help — score gaps, where to sit a test, the MOI letter kit, free prep

Find scholarships that accept these routes

ScholarPal tags scholarships that waive the test, accept Duolingo, or make conditional offers. Start here:

Which universities accept Duolingo? Checked on their own pages

Each row was read from the university's own admissions page on the date shown. A university not listed here is unchecked, not a no, and acceptance is often decided per programme.

UniversityCountryDuolingoWhat it coversChecked
King's College LondonUnited KingdomDoes not accept Duolingoall postgraduate taught programmes2026-09-27
University of GlasgowUnited KingdomDoes not accept DuolingoMSc Public Policy (the central page defers to each programme)2026-09-27
University of WarwickUnited KingdomSome programmes onlyWMG MSc courses: Band A Duolingo 120 overall with 110+ in each component; MSc Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Band B) 130 with conditions. The central postgraduate page does not mention Duolingo.2026-09-27
University of St AndrewsUnited KingdomNot confirmedpostgraduate2026-09-27
MITUnited StatesAccepts Duolingograduate admissions; departments set their own minimums2026-09-27
Australian National UniversityAustraliaNot confirmedcoursework2026-09-27
Trinity College DublinIrelandAccepts Duolingoall courses; Band B (standard postgraduate) is 120 overall, 100 in each subscore2026-09-27
Leiden UniversityNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoTaught master's (university-wide PDF 'English language proficiency - Master's programmes', last updated July 2026). Accepted: IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge C1/C2, LanguageCert Academic (test centre), PTE Academic. Exemptions are from 'submitting one of the above-mentioned English test results', i.e. the list is the required set; Duolingo not on it.2026-09-27
Utrecht UniversityNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoAll master's (EMI-ready / EMI-experienced / EMI-advanced pages each say any test not listed is not accepted). Accepted: IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT (incl. Home Edition), Cambridge C1/C2.2026-09-27
Delft University of TechnologyNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoAll MSc programmes (international-diploma admission requirements). Only TOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic, Cambridge C1/C2 accepted; 'We do not deviate from these requirements.'2026-09-27
University of GroningenNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoMaster's (central 'Master's language requirements and exemptions' page, last modified 8 Sep 2026): accepted tests are Cambridge C1/C2, IELTS Academic, LanguageCert Academic, PTE Academic, TOEFL iBT. Faculty of Science and Engineering page adds that English-medium applicants not meeting the exemptions must prove proficiency 'by means of one of the tests as mentioned above'.2026-09-27
Maastricht UniversityNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoFaculty of Health, Medicine and Life Sciences master's (interactive requirement tool): if no exemption applies, 'submit one of the following language-test certificates' - IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT, TOEIC, Cambridge C1/B2 First, TOEFL paper. No Duolingo. SBE (pre-)master's page: 'We accept TOEFL and IELTS tests'. Central UM language-requirements page was not reachable (403).2026-09-27
Radboud UniversityNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoAll English-taught master's and pre-master's: if no diploma exemption, a certificate 'from one of the following recognised English language examinations' - IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge C1/C2, PTE Academic, LanguageCert Academic. Duolingo not listed.2026-09-27
Erasmus University RotterdamNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoNo central EUR master's page found; checked school-level: ESHCC (MA Arts, Culture and Society) requires 'one of the following tests' - IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge C1/C2, LanguageCert, PTE; Erasmus School of Law LL.M. lists IELTS OR TOEFL OR Cambridge. Duolingo absent from both. ESE test list not captured.2026-09-27
University of TwenteNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoAll MSc programmes (international degree): 'Only these internationally recognised test results will be accepted' - IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge C1/C2, PTE Academic (from Sep 2026 intake), LanguageCert Academic. No Duolingo. No conditional admission without the test.2026-09-27
University of AmsterdamNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate School of Humanities master's: 'We only accept the following English language tests' - IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge. Graduate School of Social Sciences lists the same three tests ('The following tests are accepted'). UvA is decentralised; other graduate schools not checked (Graduate Schools of Science page 404).2026-09-27
Vrije Universiteit AmsterdamNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoAll English-taught master's: 'VU Amsterdam only accepts the following recognized English proficiency tests' - IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge CPE/CAE, VU-test; School of Business and Economics additionally LanguageCert Academic and PTE Academic. No Duolingo.2026-09-27
Tilburg UniversityNetherlandsDoes not accept DuolingoMaster's (non-Dutch diploma): 'submitting the results of one of the following tests' - IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge C1/C2 (research master's higher). No Duolingo.2026-09-27
University of PaduaItalyAccepts DuolingoDegree programmes delivered in English (incl. master's), applicants with a FOREIGN entry qualification: Global Engagement Office certificate list (2026-09 PDF) gives DET 115 for B2 and 135 for C1; the page says these thresholds apply to all English-taught programmes. The list for holders of an ITALIAN entry title (separate PDF) does not include Duolingo.2026-09-27
University of BolognaItalySome programmes onlyDelegated to each programme: the central page says to check the call for applications of the chosen English-taught programme. Flagship example: the Civil Engineering (Laurea Magistrale) enrolment page lists Duolingo (min. 100) for B2. The Statistical Sciences LM page lists only TOEFL, ISE, IELTS and Cambridge, but that page is stale (it links 'Admission 2018-19').2026-09-27
Politecnico di MilanoItalyDoes not accept DuolingoLaurea Magistrale (MSc), A.Y. 2026/27: students 'must demonstrate their knowledge of English by submitting one of the language certifications below': TOEFL, TOEIC, Cambridge, IELTS, Trinity, PTE Academic, PEIC and LanguageCert. Duolingo is not listed. Caveat: the External bodies page adds 'Further evidences of English language skills, at the level required, can be evaluated.'2026-09-27
Bocconi UniversityItalyAccepts DuolingoMSc/MA programmes (B2): Duolingo English Test minimum 110 in the recognised-certificate table. Five programmes (IM Global Experience, Finance Global Experience, IM CEMS MIM, IM Asia Bocconi-ESSEC DD, IM Concentration DD ESSEC Luxury) require C1 under separate rules I did not check. The requirement applies at enrolment, not at application.2026-09-27
University of FlorenceItalySome programmes onlyDelegated to programmes and schools. The DSTS (Design of Sustainable Tourism Systems) master's PDF accepts a 'Duolingo certificate: grade > 105' and says 'NO OTHER document will be taken into account'. The Management Engineering LM page gives an exhaustive list of certifying institutions without Duolingo ('Only B2 certificates ... issued by the following institutions will be considered valid'). The central international pages were 404/403.2026-09-27
University of SienaItalyDoes not accept DuolingoMaster's degree programmes taught in English (B2): non-exempt applicants 'must submit one of' (a) a certification from the CLA table of approved certificates, or (b) a certificate from an Italian university language centre in the AICLU list. The current CLA table (updated November 2025) lists only Cambridge, Trinity ISE, TOEFL iBT, IELTS (plus IGCSE). No Duolingo. There is also a paid (EUR 30) online English interview as a courtesy alternative.2026-09-27
Universidad Carlos III de MadridSpainNot confirmedMaster's taught in English (B2): the postgraduate language page gives an official 4-skill B2 diploma 'as, for example, the TOEFL, IELTS or Cambridge ESOL', with minimums for TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge FCE, Linguaskill and Aptis, and links to the CRUE accreditation list. The list is non-exhaustive and does not mention Duolingo. The application page and admission FAQs are also silent.2026-09-27
University of BarcelonaSpainNot confirmedThe central page 'Language requirements for accessing certain university master's degrees' (web.ub.edu) is behind a Cloudflare challenge (403) for both Chromium and WebFetch. Flagship MSc in Economics (UB School of Economics) gives 'Preferred certificates' Cambridge/TOEFL/IELTS at B2, non-exhaustive, no Duolingo. The same school's PhD page lists 'Duolingo Test' among accepted certificates (PhD, not master's).2026-09-27
University of DebrecenHungaryAccepts DuolingoAll programmes incl. graduate (master's): the official admissions page requires 'a standardized, at least upper-intermediate (B2) level language certificate, obtained at a proctored exam' and names no tests. DET is named only on a University of Debrecen regional-office marketing blog (southasia.edu.unideb.hu), which gives generic Hungarian-university score ranges, not a UD minimum.2026-09-27
University of MaltaMaltaDoes not accept DuolingoAll levels incl. postgraduate taught: applicants who completed secondary education overseas must present a Secure English Language Test (SELT) result. 'Examining Boards recognised by UM' = TOEFL iBT, Academic IELTS, Cambridge, Pearson PTE Academic, Trinity ISE, UM's own ISET. No Duolingo. Postgraduate: IELTS 6.5 / TOEFL 95 / ISET band 6.2026-09-27
Lund UniversitySwedenNot confirmedmaster's and bachelor's: page lists IELTS/TOEFL as examples and defers to universityadmissions.se for all approved tests; Duolingo not mentioned on either page2026-09-27
Uppsala UniversitySwedenNot confirmedmaster's: page lists IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Cambridge CAE/CPE for English 6 and defers to universityadmissions.se for other ways; Duolingo not mentioned2026-09-27
Chalmers University of TechnologySwedenDoes not accept Duolingomaster's (second cycle) application page: explicit statement that Duolingo is not accepted2026-09-27
KTH Royal Institute of TechnologySwedenNot confirmedmaster's: page gives IELTS 6.5 / TOEFL 4.5 as examples and defers to University Admissions for all recognised tests; Duolingo not mentioned2026-09-27
University of OsloNorwayDoes not accept Duolingomaster's taught in English: must document with one of TOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic, PTE Academic (or a listed exemption incl. Cambridge C1/C2, IB); Duolingo not on the list2026-09-27
University of HelsinkiFinlandDoes not accept Duolingointernational master's (English as degree language): page states it lists all accepted methods (IELTS, TOEFL, Cambridge C1/C2, PTE, YKI, schooling/degrees); Duolingo not among them2026-09-27
KU LeuvenBelgiumDoes not accept Duolingoall degree applicants (incl. master's): explicit 'We do not accept Duolingo test scores'; accepted tests are TOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic, Cambridge CAE/CPE, ITACE C1/C2 only2026-09-27
Technical University of MunichGermanyDoes not accept DuolingoAll degree programmes taught in English (bachelor's and master's): the central recognised-certificate list is TOEFL iBT/Home Edition 88, IELTS Academic/Online 6.5, Cambridge CAE/CPE A-C, PTE Academic 65, and the page states other English certificates are not recognised. Duolingo is not on the list. Some programmes' FPSO allow alternative proofs (English-module credits, English bachelor's thesis) but none names Duolingo.2026-09-27
RWTH Aachen UniversityGermanyDoes not accept DuolingoMaster's programmes taught in English: accepted certificates are those in the examination regulations (TOEFL iBT 90 / 4.5, IELTS 6.0, Cambridge B2 First grade B / C1 / C2, PTE Academic 60, UNIcert II, for §3 Abs. 9 UPO; higher band for §3 Abs. 10 UPO programmes: TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.0, PTE 70). Duolingo is not listed, and the international-master page says only officially recognized tests are accepted.2026-09-27
Heidelberg UniversityGermanyNot confirmedCentral pages say English requirements for English-taught master's are set by each programme's admission regulations; no central test list. Flagship checked: MSc Scientific Computing asks for 'English B2 or equivalent or TOEFL iBT 90 or IELTS 6.5' - Duolingo not named, list not exhaustive.2026-09-27
Humboldt University of BerlinGermanyNot confirmedCentral page: English requirements and accepted certificates for each master's are set in the programme's admission regulations (ZZR); no central list. Flagship checked: LL.M. International Dispute Resolution lists UNIcert II/III, DAAD certificate, Cambridge FCE, IELTS 5.5, TOEFL 72 and says unlisted certificates may be inquired about - Duolingo not named and list not exhaustive.2026-09-27
Constructor UniversityGermanyAccepts DuolingoGraduate (MSc/MBA) programmes, all taught in English: Duolingo English Test accepted with minimum 110 (FAQ lists it twice, once misspelled 'Doulingo').2026-09-27
ETH ZurichSwitzerlandDoes not accept DuolingoAll master's programmes: the page says its list contains all recognised certificates and others are not accepted - IELTS Academic 7.0 (6.0 each band), TOEFL iBT 100 (5.0 on new scale after 21 Jan 2026), C1 Advanced grade B (193), C2 Proficiency grade C (200). Duolingo not listed.2026-09-27
EPFLSwitzerlandNot confirmedMaster's: central admission page states no English certificate requirement. Flagship MSc Computer Science: English certificates 'welcome but not required'; no list of tests, Duolingo not mentioned. So no test is required to apply, rather than DET being accepted.2026-09-27
University of GenevaSwitzerlandSome programmes onlyMaster's: no central English-test rule (general enrolment conditions defer programme conditions to faculties). MSc Global Health (Global Studies Institute) explicitly accepts Duolingo English Test 140 (C1-equivalent list). GSEM (economics/management) master's accept 'IELTS, TOEFL, Cambridge Certificate, or other examinations' at B2 without naming Duolingo.2026-09-27
Stanford UniversityUnited StatesDoes not accept DuolingoCentral Graduate Admissions policy for non-professional graduate programs (MA, MS, PhD): applicants who are not exempt must submit TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic; no other test named.2026-09-27
Harvard UniversityUnited StatesDoes not accept DuolingoGSAS: Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin GSAS (PhD and select master's): only TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic accepted; alternate tests explicitly not accepted.2026-09-27
Yale UniversityUnited StatesDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate School of Arts and Sciences: Yale GSAS PhD and master's: TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic only; FAQ says 'If you are required to take English language test, please take either the TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic.'2026-09-27
Princeton UniversityUnited StatesAccepts DuolingoGraduate School: Graduate School (all degree programs): TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo English Test accepted centrally. No Graduate School minimum score; departments may set their own (Fields of Study page). DET Conversation below 125 triggers an English assessment on enrollment.2026-09-27
Cornell UniversityUnited StatesDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate School: Graduate School (research and professional master's degrees): only IELTS Academic and TOEFL iBT accepted; Duolingo DET named as not accepted. Some Johnson College of Business MPS programs are reported to accept DET 130 (search snippets only, not fetched).2026-09-27
California Institute of TechnologyUnited StatesAccepts DuolingoGraduate Studies Office (all graduate applicants): TOEFL, Pearson PTE, IELTS and other certified proficiency exams 'such as Duolingo' are recognised. Tests are not required for admission; there is no minimum score.2026-09-27
Michigan State UniversityUnited StatesAccepts DuolingoGraduate School university minimum (all graduate programs): Duolingo English Test is one of the listed proficiency tests; regular admission 110+, provisional 95-105. Some departments require higher scores.2026-09-27
Columbia UniversityUnited StatesAccepts DuolingoGSAS: GSAS (search-snippet evidence only): requirement can be fulfilled by TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo English Test (DET); TOEFL iBT minimum 100; no DET minimum seen.2026-09-27
Carnegie Mellon UniversityUnited StatesSome programmes onlyCMU has no central graduate school; each college/department sets English requirements. College of Engineering ECE (MS/PhD) accepts DET with composite 115 minimum (subscores Literacy 105, Comprehension 115, Production 90, Conversation 95). Search snippets indicate Dietrich English (DET 130) and Heinz (130 recommended) also accept DET - not fetched.2026-09-27
University of MichiganUnited StatesDoes not accept DuolingoRackham: Rackham Graduate School programs: accepted tests are TOEFL, MET, ECPE and IELTS (as restated on the Michigan Robotics graduate admissions page, a Rackham program). Rackham's own Tests page was blocked by Cloudflare; its search snippet says Duolingo is not acceptable.2026-09-27
University of PennsylvaniaUnited StatesSome programmes onlyNo central graduate school. SAS Graduate Division (PhD/AM) asks for proof of English proficiency naming TOEFL/IELTS only (not stated as exhaustive). Penn Engineering graduate admissions accepts TOEFL iBT, IELTS or DET, with DET 135 as a recommended (not hard) target.2026-09-27
New York UniversityUnited StatesAccepts DuolingoGSAS (master's and PhD): official TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo English Test scores accepted. GSAS sets no hard minimum but recommends DET 130; some departments list their own minimums. Other NYU schools (Tandon, Steinhardt, Stern, etc.) run separate admissions - not checked.2026-09-27
University of TorontoCanadaDoes not accept DuolingoSchool of Graduate Studies: All SGS graduate programmes (master's and doctoral): the SGS calendar says the requirement 'may be satisfied using one of the English-language proficiency tests below' and lists TOEFL, IELTS, Academic English Level 60, CAEL, COPE, Cambridge C1/C2 only. No Duolingo.2026-09-27
University of British ColumbiaCanadaAccepts Duolingograduate: Graduate (Vancouver G+PS): Duolingo is on the list of acceptable tests; per-programme Duolingo minimum table; programmes not listed use the UBC standard minimum 125 overall (reading 115, listening 115, writing 120, speaking 120). Many programmes are higher (e.g. MSc Computer Science 130, MA Anthropology 135).2026-09-27
McGill UniversityCanadaDoes not accept Duolingograduate: All graduate programmes: McGill states explicitly that DET (and PTE) are not accepted for graduate admission.2026-09-27
University of AlbertaCanadaAccepts Duolingograduate: Graduate (FGPS) minimum: DET 120 with no integrated subscore below 100; some programmes where spoken English matters set 140 with no subscore below 120. Departments/FGPS may require further proof.2026-09-27
Western UniversityCanadaAccepts Duolingograduate: Graduate (SGPS) minimum DET 115; programmes may require more (department pages seen: MES/MMASc 120, Communication Sciences and Disorders 135, per search leads).2026-09-27
University of WaterlooCanadaDoes not accept Duolingograduate: All graduate programmes: the graduate calendar's accepted-exam chart is TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Cambridge, CAEL, PTE, EFAS, and it says tests not on the chart are not accepted. (Duolingo appears on Waterloo sites only as an EFAS/Renison placement input, not for admission.)2026-09-27
University of SydneyAustraliaDoes not accept DuolingoAll levels incl. postgraduate coursework: 'Accepted English language tests' list is IELTS Academic (+One Skill Retake), TOEFL iBT (Australia version only), PTE Academic, LanguageCert Academic (in-person), Cambridge C1 Advanced, Cambridge C2 Proficiency. No Duolingo; home/online variants excluded.2026-09-27
Monash UniversityAustraliaNot confirmedCoursework admissions (Australia): the named test list is IELTS variants, TOEFL iBT, TOEFL Essentials, PTE, Cambridge C1/C2, LanguageCert Academic, AEMG EAP DEP; Duolingo is not named, but the page says 'Other English tests may also be accepted and are assessed when you apply', so the list is not exhaustive.2026-09-27
University of QueenslandAustraliaDoes not accept DuolingoAll UQ programmes incl. postgraduate coursework: minimum ELP is met via tests in Table 3 'English Language Proficiency Tests and Scores Approved for UQ Admission' (IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT incl. Paper Edition, PTE Academic, CES, UQ College Bridging English). No Duolingo in Table 3 (last approved 26 June 2024).2026-09-27
Deakin UniversityAustraliaNot confirmedPostgraduate coursework (IELTS 6.5 / CEFR C1 level): Deakin's Admission Minimum Eligibility Criteria Procedure Table 2 lists IELTS, TOEFL iBT, PTE, Cambridge C2/C1, OET, DUELI Test, STAT Written English; Duolingo not named. The list is framed as 'across common applicant cohorts', and an equivalence register exists, so it is not stated to be exhaustive.2026-09-27
University of MelbourneAustraliaDoes not accept Duolingograduate coursework: All courses incl. graduate coursework: accepted tests are IELTS (+One Skill Retake), TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, Cambridge CAE, LanguageCert Academic, Michigan English Test; online/at-home versions of any test are not accepted, so the online-only DET is excluded on two counts.2026-09-27
University College DublinIrelandAccepts DuolingoGraduate taught and graduate research (university-wide minimum table in the Registry's Minimum English Language Requirements page); some graduate courses may set higher requirements.2026-09-27
University of GalwayIrelandNot confirmedCentral 'Recognised English Language Proficiency Tests' table (Global Galway entry requirements, all levels) does not list Duolingo; the list is not stated to be exhaustive. Two taught-MSc programme pages checked (CS-Data Analytics, Biomedical Science) name IELTS/TOEFL/PTE only.2026-09-27
University College CorkIrelandAccepts DuolingoPostgraduate (taught and research) standard minimum DET 120 with 110 in each subscore; a listed set of programmes with higher requirements (e.g. MSc Audiology, Physiotherapy, Nursing, Social Work) require DET 130 (some with 120 or 130 per section); research applicants on 2-year programmes with DET 110-115 may be admitted subject to a Language Centre skills check.2026-09-27
Koç UniversityTurkeyDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate (master's and PhD, all graduate schools) - the graduate application FAQ enumerates accepted English exams: TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, Cambridge CAE/CPE, YDS/e-YDS/YÖKDİL (Turkish nationals/residents). DET absent; IELTS explicitly not accepted.2026-09-27
Sabancı UniversityTurkeyDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate 2026-2027 (all graduate schools): accepted exams are TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, CAE, CPE, YDS/e-YDS/YÖKDİL/e-YÖKDİL, e-TEP, or Sabancı's own ELAE; the Social Sciences section states other exams will not be accepted. DET not listed anywhere.2026-09-27
Bilkent UniversityTurkeyDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate School of Engineering and Science (M.S. and Ph.D.) only: English proficiency via TOEFL iBT (87 / 4.5 of 6 from 2026), IELTS Academic (6.5, min 5.5 each), or Bilkent PAE (C). Other Bilkent graduate schools (e.g. Economics & Social Sciences) not checked.2026-09-27
Ibn Haldun UniversityTurkeyDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate programmes (master's and PhD): accepted English proficiency = YDS/e-YDS and TOEFL; master's applicants without these may take Ibn Haldun's own proficiency test (not accepted for PhD). IELTS explicitly not accepted.2026-09-27
University of MalayaMalaysiaNot confirmedPostgraduate (international applicants): the Study@UM FAQ lists validity periods for IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, MUET and Cambridge and names excluded formats (IELTS Indicator, TOEFL Home Edition/ITP, IELTS UKVI); Duolingo is not mentioned either way. Scores are set per programme.2026-09-27
International Islamic University MalaysiaMalaysiaDoes not accept DuolingoPostgraduate (all levels, CPS language requirements quoting Postgraduate Regulations Revised 2022): English entry evidence must be a minimum score on TOEFL (iBT/PBT), Academic IELTS, the IIUM-administered EPT, or MUET. Duolingo is not among them.2026-09-27
Doha Institute for Graduate StudiesQatarAccepts DuolingoMaster's programmes excluding executive programmes: Duolingo is a listed admission test, 95 for admission and 120 for the graduation requirement. Executive MPA: no English requirement for admission, but graduation needs Duolingo 95 (or IELTS 5.5 / TOEFL). A separate PhD guide exists and was not read.2026-09-27
Hamad Bin Khalifa UniversityQatarNot confirmedGraduate (all colleges): college admission pages ask for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 79; the graduate admission policy says 'TOEFL score of 79, or its equivalent'. Duolingo is not mentioned anywhere read, and no list is stated as exhaustive.2026-09-27
Qatar UniversityQatarDoes not accept DuolingoGraduate (Diploma/Master's/PhD), international applicants: 'requested to submit only IELTS (Academic Version)'. Applicants in general: TOEFL or its equivalent. Score varies by programme. Duolingo not named.2026-09-27
King Abdullah University of Science and TechnologySaudi ArabiaDoes not accept DuolingoKAUST: Graduate (MS and PhD): the Entry Requirements page says KAUST does not accept 'The Duolingo English Test (except for Visiting Student applicants)'. Accepted: IELTS 7 (6.5 per section), new-scale TOEFL iBT 5 (4.5 per section), PTE Academic 71, Cambridge C1/C2 185.2026-09-27
Khalifa UniversityUnited Arab EmiratesNot confirmedPostgraduate (MSc/PhD): the FAQ requires iTOEFL 91 or Academic IELTS 6.5 (taken within 24 months). The required-documents page (read via WebFetch) names 'IELTS, TOEFL or EmSAT'. Neither page mentions Duolingo or says other tests are refused.2026-09-27
National University of SingaporeSingaporeDoes not accept Duolingograduate coursework: Graduate coursework, set by each faculty. College of Design and Engineering: TOEFL/IELTS only, 'Other tests ... are unacceptable'. NUS Business MSc in Management FAQ: 'We accept only IELTS (Academic) or TOEFL iBT' in answer to a question naming Duolingo. FASS asks for TOEFL/IELTS. No NUS coursework page found that accepts DET.2026-09-27
More about No English test needed

What this page covers

This page groups together scholarships that reduce or remove the need for IELTS by accepting alternative proof of English proficiency. An MOI (Medium of Instruction) letter confirms that your prior education was delivered in English, and a growing number of programmes, especially in the UK, Germany, and Turkey, accept this document as a full IELTS substitute.

  • Duolingo-accepted scholarships are included when the data explicitly confirms it.
  • MOI-waiver opportunities are highlighted because they are especially relevant across MENA student profiles.
  • Programs that do not require a language test are surfaced separately from alternative-test programs.
  • UK sanctuary-university programmes frequently accept MOI letters for students from conflict-affected regions.
  • DAAD EPOS and several Turkish government scholarships list MOI as an accepted alternative.
  • MOI waivers are especially relevant for Palestinian, Syrian, and MENA applicants who studied at English-medium institutions.
  • Each scholarship page shows the specific MOI conditions: some require the prior institution to be on an approved list.

What to prepare

  • Check each scholarship detail page to confirm whether alternatives apply to your degree level and nationality.
  • Prepare MOI or school-language documentation early if you plan to rely on a waiver instead of IELTS.
  • Use country pages to compare English-test flexibility across destinations before investing in exams.
  • Request your MOI letter from your registrar or academic records office well before application deadlines.
  • Some programmes require the letter to be on official university letterhead with a stamp or seal.
  • Even if MOI is accepted, check whether a minimum English grade or proficiency interview is also required.

Frequently asked questions

Which scholarships do not require IELTS in 2026?
DAAD EPOS, Türkiye Bursları, and ISDB scholarships accept MOI letters or Duolingo instead of IELTS. Chevening and some Erasmus Mundus programmes offer conditional admission: you can apply first and submit test scores later.
What is an MOI (Medium of Instruction) letter?
An MOI letter is an official document from your previous university confirming that your degree programme was taught in English. It is used as proof of English proficiency in place of IELTS or TOEFL scores. It is the fastest English proof if you already hold one.
Which scholarships accept an MOI letter instead of IELTS?
UK sanctuary-university scholarships (Cara, UNHCR-linked programmes), DAAD EPOS, and several Turkish government scholarships and Turkish universities explicitly list MOI as an accepted alternative. Some Erasmus Mundus programmes also accept MOI letters for students from English-medium institutions.
Can Palestinian or Syrian students use an MOI letter?
Yes, if your prior degree (or significant coursework) was delivered in English. Palestinian students from universities in the West Bank, Gaza, or Jordan that teach in English are typically eligible to request an MOI letter.
Is MOI accepted the same as "no English test required"?
No. MOI is one form of English-test alternative. Some programmes still require a minimum grade or an interview alongside the letter. Always check the specific conditions on each scholarship's detail page.
Does no IELTS mean no English proof at all?
Not always. Some scholarships accept Duolingo, some accept MOI letters, and some require a pre-sessional language course. Always verify the exact requirement on the scholarship detail page before applying.
Are Duolingo-accepted scholarships included here?
Yes. ScholarPal includes scholarships where the data explicitly shows Duolingo acceptance. Filter by "Accepts Duolingo" in the scholarships page or use the dedicated Duolingo page for a curated list.

Explore related scholarships

Ready to find your scholarship?

Already have an account? Sign in